Welcome, public visitor.  
header logo

Student Services

Student Services

The Student Services department oversees the health, welfare, and learning needs of all students. Specific departments are listed. Please visit each page on the left for helpful links and information of interest.
 

STUDENT SERVICES PERSONNEL

Director of Student Services
Laura Lawrence (lauralawrence@bwls.net)                     740.965.8971     

Student Services Coordinator 
Erin Curtis (erincurtis@bwls.net)                                       740.965.7712

Administrative Assistants
Aleshia Henderson (aleshiahenderson@bwls.net)         740.965.8969
Heidi Koon (heidikoon@bwls.net)                                     740.965.7846

School Psychologists
Megan Duran (meganduran@bwls.net)                          740.965.8966 BWE/SOU
Tim Wagoner (timwagoner@bwls.net)                            740.965.8961 grades 5-12
Chelsea Heban (chelseaheban@bwls.net)                      740.965.8939 HAR/GRE

Health/Nursing Services
Megan Truax (megantruax@bwls.net)  - District Nurse 614.202.1666

Documents

The State of Ohio, the Governor, the Ohio Department of Education, and other state-level defendants to a class action lawsuit have reached a proposed settlement and have requested our District’s assistance in information students and parents of the proposed settlement. A link to the settlement is below. To be clear, our District is not a defendant in this lawsuit and is not accused of any wrongdoing in this lawsuit. We are sharing this information as a courtesy to the Ohio Department of Education and our community.
Special education procedural safeguards notice, A Guide to Parent Rights in Special Education, is available for district and parent use. For the form in additional languages visit http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Special-Education/A-Guide-to-Parent-Rights-in-Special-Education
In compliance with the procedural requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, hereinafter Section 504, the following Notice of Parent/Student Rights in Identification, Evaluation, and Placement shall be utilized in the Big Walnut Local School District.
Scholarship programs for students with disabilities and required notice of eye exam and transition services.